Red Velvet Cookies

Almost all of us love red velvet cake. At least, I do. And it bugged me that on all the internet I could not find a decent red velvet cookie recipe. I finally gave up and made my own by mixing red velvet pancake, red velvet cake, and chocolate chip cookie recipes. Yes there was even a red velvet pancake recipe but no cookie recipe. Maybe you can understand my frustration at this point. And because the recipe turned out to be a success I thought I’d share it with you guys, because you guys deserve that. I’m not sure how this is beauty related, but I’m sure I can find a connection somewhere. I’m calling these festive because they’re cookies and they’re red, so I have every right to make that connection.

This makes 1-2 dozen cookies (that’s 12-24 for people who don’t know what a bakers dozen is).

This is what you need (aka Ingredients):

  • 1/2 cup butter (melted)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 overflowing teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder (I used Starbuck’s Hot Cocoa powder)
  • 1 1/4 teaspoon red food colouring
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit or 190 degrees Celsius.

Cream the melted butter and both sugars together until fluffy. It’s easiest to use an electric mixer here if you don’t want your arm to fall off.

Add in the egg, oil, vanilla and red food colouring and beat until smooth. The mixture should look a really bright scary red colour right now, but don’t worry when you add the cocoa powder it will darken to the traditional red velvet colour.

Stir in cocoa, flour, baking soda and salt until it’s just combined. DON’T OVER MIX, why I don’t know I’ve never tried it. I think it makes your cookies flat or something. Like I said, I don’t know.

Now if you want to here you can add a 1/2 cup of chocolate chips, personally I didn’t because I knew I was going to eat half the dough and chocolate chips just get in the way.

Using an ice cream scoop, scoop out 1-2 tablespoons of dough and set on baking sheet.

Here you can sprinkle a bit of powdered sugar on top of the cookies if you want. I did, but like a nincompoop (it’s a word, don’t judge) I forgot to measure the amount. So do what you will.

Bake for 7-10 minutes.

Let cool until you won’t burn your fingers or tongue and DEVOUR those cookies you spent 20-30 minutes making. You put your blood, sweat and tears into those. It was a struggle, but you survived. Reward yourself!

Happy Feasting!

I post every Sunday. I also post every Tuesday and Friday on my Main Blog. I also have a YouTube channel, on which I upload new videos every Monday. Comment what you want me to do next. You can also contact me on a more personal level by emailing me, I respond to every email I receive. Like and share if you enjoyed this, as it helps me grow. I hope you have a wondrous day, my Munchkins!

Main Blog: www.kittenstant.wordpress.com

YouTube Channel: www.youtube.com/channel/UCmHKxvfCtOOxWlKYV63GFYw

Email: kit10stant@gmail.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/kit.stant

Twitter: https://twitter.com/kittenstant

Instagram: http://instagram.com/kitkat1150

One thought on “Red Velvet Cookies

  1. Pingback: Red Velvet Cake | Blue Ivy Cakery

Leave a comment

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

successlabtv

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Disrupted Physician

The Physician Wellness Movement and Illegitimate Authority: The Need for Revolt and Reconstruction

Indulge litterae

By: Janelle Corpen

Vonj Production

Bringing you love through spirit!

HEALTH + INSPIRATION

Wellness • Poetry • Life

jrad47.wordpress.com/

.......is writing

DoubleU = W

WITHIN ARE PIECES OF ME

Smart Discount Shop

Discover all the creative and ingenious ways to save money !